VOICE

I really want to post on here everyday. But here’s the thing (or, one of many): I want to find my VOICE. And I don’t think I have, and so I’m hesitant to post.

My natural voice, the one I’m writing in right now, feels carefree and off-the-cuff. It also feels chic-lit, irreverent, slightly hostile, deeply cynical, poppy (not poopy, though that too), and too clever. So I avoid it. It FEELS TOO EASY. It has all the qualities that critics pinged “Eat Pray Love” for. What to do?

On the one hand, I could write in this natural voice and risk alienating all my smart, fancy-pants friends. (Okay, I only have one. But I have a major crush on him, so it’s a big risk.) On the other hand, I could write in my smart, fancy-pants voice and risk not having anything to say, because nothing is smart enough for that voice. I have a sense that the answer lies somewhere in the middle. That my easy, natural voice feels uncomfortable because it is not digging deeply enough, and my fancy-pants voice feels stifling because it is too far removed from real life.

How to solve this dilemma?? I don’t know the answer to that question. What I do know is that I want to be posting everyday, so even if I have to do it in my chic-lit voice, I will do it.

Leave a Reply

