Lost in Learning

I have just been immersing myself in learning about business writing. I am waiting to hear back about one last job I applied for in the social services world. If I don’t get it, I am going to pursue freelance writing full-time.  I’m totally excited and totally freaked out!

The web is full of articles by freelance writers who claim you can earn millions of dollars. I’m not saying that wouldn’t be nice, but it’s challenging to find direction out there that seems trustworthy.

So far, I have bought a domain name and web hosting through ipage, which cost me $34 for the year. I’m going to join Lynda.com and start teaching myself SEO (which stands for Search Engine Optimization), copywriting, Adobe Suite, HTML, etc. ($25/month, supposed to be well worth it). I’ve also reserved some books from the library that are supposed to be good, so I’ll let you know.

I just submitted my first two articles to portlandsports.com, so I am excited to see them go up!

Leave a Reply

